Home About AAAS Programs Membership Publications News Career Resources
 
 
 
  Advanced search  
   
 

History & Archives

Triple-A S: Advancing Science, Serving Society

About: History & Archives

http://archives.aaas.org//inc/wrappers_new/archives_top.inc


Scientific Association Records Programs: A Beginner's Guide
Acknowledgments

A project such as this generates an amazing number of debts to one's friends, professional colleagues, and coworkers.

This manual owes much to Alan Leviton of the Pacific Division of AAAS and the California Academy of Sciences, who read the entire work at several stages and tested it against his experience with scientific records in a variety of organizations. He also typeset and proofread the book.

Several science archivists critiqued the initial outline and offered advice that reshaped the work, notably Clark Elliott (Harvard University), Pamela Henson (Smithsonian Institution), Lori Hefner (Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory), Helen Samuels (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), and Joan Warnow-Blewitt (American Institute of Physics).

A special thanks to Donna Wells, now at Howard University, for her work on this project when she was at AAAS. David Whitescarver of Rogers and Wells, a distinguished law firm in Washington, D.C., kindly reviewed the outline from the legal point of view. I was blessed with two enthusiastic and helpful program officers at the National Historical Publications and Records Commission, Lisa Weber and Daniel Stokes.

Finally, a large cast of AAAS staff helped the project. Carl Amthor, Debra Wright, and Nan Broadbent provided a niche for the archives in their departments. Joseph Walton and his staff (especially Alton Whitehead, Gregory Gatlin, and Hubert Kelly, Jr.) unfailingly supplied day to day assistance. Janet Kegg, AAAS librarian, provided superb reference service. Among the directorates and departments of AAAS, Laurie Baker, Dawn Bennett, Monica Bradford, Ruth Campbell, Catherine Campos, Mary Curry, Fran Garner, Elizabeth Gehman, Jim Landry, Regina Livingston, Linda McDaniel, and Colleen Struss shared their knowledge of records with me. Bill Bodziak and Julie Ische helped with the administration of the grant that funded this project. And last but assuredly not least, AAAS Executive Officer Richard Nicholson provided encouragement and support for this project at a crucial juncture.

The National Historical Publications and Records Commission awarded AAAS a grant (92-112) that partially supported the project. The NHPRC has been a fried of science records for several decades, and this is but the latest evidence of their interet.

Finally, Professor Mark Aldrich of Smith College helped in countless ways, among them as box-mover, surveyor, sounding board, critic, and cheerleader.

Much of the merit of this report can be attributed to the contributions of all these people. I thank them heartily.

Mistakes remain indisputably assignable to the author.

<< Previous | Table of Contents | Next >>

 
Mission | History | Governance | Fellows | Annual Meeting | Affiliates | Awards | Giving
Education | Science & Policy | Government Relations | International Office | Centers
Join | Renew | Benefits | Member Sections | Membership Categories | Member Help | Log in
Science Online | Books & Reports | Newsletters | SB&F | Annual Report
Press Room | Events | Media Contacts | News Archives
Science Careers | Next Wave | Fellowships | Internships | Employment at AAAS
History & Archives
Home  
 
About the Archives  
 
AAAS History & Exhibits  
 
AAAS & Division Officers  
 
Meetings  
 
Publications  
 
Official Documents  
 
AAAS Awards & Honors  
 
Collections  
 
Records Guide  
 
Resources  
 
AAAS-CHF History Seminar