|
Scientific Association Records Programs: A Beginner's Guide
Appendix D:
Sample Set of Instructions Outlining Procedures for Transferring Records to
the Archives Currently in Use at the American Association for the Advancement
of Science
Preparing Records for Transfer to the Archives*
Appraisal
Records being transferred to Archives should be appraised by
Archives' staff before transfer. By appraise, we mean evaluating in terms
of research or archival value. We will either discuss the transfer over the
phone or come to your office to evaluate the records. We will also work with
you in determining guidelines for future transfers. Questions you will probably
be asked include: Who will be using these records and how often? Is this the
entire collection or are there more boxes to follow? Are there restrictions
on use? How long should the records be kept?
Weeding
Because of space restrictions, the Archives cannot store multiple
copies of items. As you pack items for transfer, remove anything above three
copies of publications, printed material and form letters. Other storage areas
may be used to store the multiple items.
Boxes
Paige boxes, used exclusively by the Archives, will be supplied
after it is determined that records being transferred are archival candidates.
Because of the expense involved, Paige boxes can no longer be supplied for
moving purposes. Special moving boxes, very similar to the Paige boxes, can
now be obtained from Building Services at x6409. The larger Office Mover Boxes
are also available from them.
Packing Records
A Paige box normally holds about 1/2 of a full file drawer so
when ordering boxes, use that as a rule. Even if a collection of files does
not fill up a box, use the box anyway. Archives will transfer them to smaller
boxes later. Paige boxes were not set up to handle hanging file folders. The
metal hangers tear up the sides of the box and also prevent the lid from fitting
properly. If possible, please transfer records in manila folders rather than
hanging folders. Keep the files in their original order.
Pick-up and Delivery
Once items are ready to be brought down to Archives, notify
Michele Aldrich and we will make arrangements for the transfer. If it is a
small collection of only several boxes and someone from your office can not
bring them down, someone from Archives will pick them up. The Archives has
a cart that it will loan for moving records. Larger collections will be picked
up by Building Services. Please do not call Building Services yourself. They
will not transfer archival collections without authorization from us.
___________________
1Original document prepared by Donna Wells.
APPENDIX D (continued)
Identification of Transferred Records
Labeling
First, and most importantly, do not write or tape items to the
outside of the box. Put all identifying information on a separate piece of
paper and place it inside each box on top of the folders. This is to prevent
the acidic inks and adhesive used in markers and tape from eventually eating
through paper items.
Identifying information should include: the date items were
transferred, the full name of the person supervising the transfer, the department,
a short one line or one word description (e.g., correspondence, story
files, canceled checks) and the years the collection covers. For example "Chron
Files, 1984-1986."
Boxes should be identified based on the number of boxes in the
total transfer. If a transfer has 5 boxes, label them as box 1 of 5, box 2
of 5 and so forth.
Finding Aids
For future reference, keep some sort of notation of transfers.
For example, some offices keep a computer file of all transfers. Each transfer
will have a different computer file name. Besides the date of transfer and
the number of boxes, their computer file includes a list of the folder headings
in each box or a general description of each box's content. When a file is
needed, they can call down and provide us with the transfer date, the box
number and the file heading. The offices normally provide the archives with
a paper copy of each file. At the top of each page, provide label information
listed above.
If you prefer not to keep computer files, write or type a list
of folder headings or a general description of box contents and make a copy
for Archives and one for your files. At the top of each page, provide label
information listed above.
If the box contains case files that have the same type of information
in each folder (e.g., membership surveys or applications), a list of
folder headings is not necessary. In that case, the identifying information
listed above is enough. Make sure the one-word/phrase description is specific
enough to help with retrieval later.
* Original document prepared by Donna Wells.
<< Previous | Table
of Contents | Next >>
|