ARC logo

AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards - Newspapers (< 100,000 daily circulation)

In 2009, with support from an endowment by The Kavli Foundation, the AAAS Science Journalism Awards became the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards. These awards continue to encourage and recognize outstanding reporting on the sciences and their applications, excluding health and clinical medicine. The awards are given for reporting in (1) newspapers of over 100,000 daily circulation, (2) newspapers of under 100,000 circulation, (3) general circulation magazines, and on (4) television, (5) radio, (6) online, and (7)children's science news, created in 2005. The television award has been expanded to include a category for spot news, feature reporting and for in-depth reporting. The winners receive $3,000 and a plaque.

AAAS began administering awards for excellence in science journalism as early as 1946. From 1959 to 1993, these awards were sponsored by the Westinghouse Electric Company as the AAAS Westinghouse Science Journalism Awards. From 1994 to 2008, The Whitaker Foundation sponsored the awards as the AAAS Science Journalism Awards. Winners for the AAAS Science Journalism Awards (1994-2008) and the AAAS Westinghouse Science Journalism Awards (1959-1993) are listed under the inactive awards section of